Skip to main content
McMaster University Menu Search
News & Events

Academic Skills and Writing Workshops

The Student Success Centre (SSC) has a number of FREE academic skills and writing support workshops to help you put your best foot forward. Register on OSCARplus.

Jan 31, 2018

Visit the SSC for more information!

Register for one or more workshops on OSCARplus.

Managing Group Work

Get past conflicts and get stuff done.

  • Tuesday, March 6 3:30-4:20

 

Improved Presentations

Learn to organize information so that it’s compelling and easy to follow.

  • Thursday, March 1 11:30-12:30
  • Thursday, March 8 3:30-4:20
  • Tuesday, March 13 1:30-2:20

 

Study Smarter, Not Harder: How to Prepare for Exams

Tools, techniques that will help you prepare

  • Tuesday, February 13 2:30-3:20
  • Tuesday, March 20 1:30-2:20
  • Thursday, March 29 1:30-3:20
  • Wednesday, April 4 1:30-2:20
  • Monday, April 9 1:30-2:20

 

Writing a Clear, Concise and Contentious Thesis Statement

Develop and refine your thesis statement for maximum impact and effectiveness.

  • Tuesday, February 6 10:30-11:20
  • Wednesday, March 7 1:30-2:20

 

A, B, or All of the Above? How to Prepare for Multiple Choice Exams

Effective strategies for studying for and completing multiple choice exams.

  • Thursday, February 15 3:30-4:20
  • Tuesday, February 27 3:30-4:20
  • Wednesday, March 21 1:30-2:20
  • Wednesday, March 28 3:30-4:20
  • Thursday, March 5 2:30-3:20

 

Short Answer and Essay Exams: Avoiding the Blank Page

Tips and strategies for studying for and writing these types of exam questions. 

  • Wednesday, February 14 3:30-4:20
  • Wednesday,  February 28 1:30-2:20
  • Thursday, March 22 2:30-3:20
  • Thursday, April 5  3:30-4:20

 

Writing Paragraphs and Integrating Sources

This workshop will allow you to make the best use of your research.

  • Wednesday, February 7 11:30-12:20

 

Visit the SSC for more information!

Register for one or more workshops on OSCARplus.